Raw Mock Chicken Salad and Roma Tomato Avocado Side Salad

15 Dec

Last night I made the mock Chicken Salad ahead of time, to let the ingredients “marry” in the fridge. I used a recipe I found on vegweb.com, but tweaked it a little.

Mock Chicken Salad

1/2 cup sunflower seeds, soaked 3 hours
1/2 cup cashews, soaked 3 hours
2″ piece cucumber
1 tablespoon chopped onion
1/2 celery stick
1/4 cup pecans pieces
1 teaspoon dill
1/4 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Juice from 1/2 lemon
lots of ground black pepper
1/2 carrot, optional

Instead of adding the optional carrot, I mixed in a handful of raisins and 1/4 of an apple, chopped. Everything else gets thrown into the food processor and blended until a chunky consistency. Then fold in the raisins and apples. I also like to keep it in the fridge overnight because the blade from the food processor tends to heat up things, and hot chicken salad doesn’t sound very appetizing.

I had gone to 14 Carrot Whole Foods, a health food store in Lexington, SC a couple nights earlier. They offer many different raw options for take home and even a few at their fresh deli. They sell in their chilled aisle a few different kinds of flax seed “breads”, and I went with an onion flax bread. I should have tried the regular flax bread they had because it had a softer appearance. The onion bread was a little too crunchy and broke in half when I pushed the top of the sandwich on.

It really does taste like chicken-less chicken salad, but the apples help the texture. The dill is the star of the show, and the raisins bring a little sweetness to this savory dish. I topped it with sliced roma tomatoes, bibb lettuce, and avocado slices.

I had some left over tomato slices and avocado, so not being one to waste, I made a little side salad out of it. I topped it with some leftover corn jicama salad from Good Life., and seasoned with salt and pepper. Gotta say, I think I liked the salad more than my main course! It was crisp, fresh and tasty.

The recipe makes enough mixture for probably 3-4 sandwiches of this size. It actually turned out to be a lot of food and I have a whole half a sandwich left on my plate. This would even be perfect in a lettuce or cabbage leaf if you don’t want the “bread”. I will probably continue to make this even when I’m done doing raw, it’d be a perfect summer picnic sandwich.

Leave a Reply

