Raw Tacos

15 Dec

I go to a cafe in West Columbia, Good Life Cafe, that specializes in raw vegan food, and the stuff they make is out of this world! On my 5th day of raw eating, I went there and ordered their most popular dish, the raw tacos. I can see why they are their most popular item, they are so reminiscent of real taco meat and so filling, without all the grease and guilt. I’m sure even a meat eater would love them! I just had to have them every day!

But at 10 bucks a plate, it just cannot be done. So I went searching for a raw taco meat recipe, and found a wonderful site called loveveggiesandyoga.com. Averie has some awesome raw recipes and well as other recipes on her site. It required minimal ingredients to get a decent amount of “meat”, and very flavorful as well. Here’s the recipe:

Averie’s Raw Vegan Taco Nut “Meat”
1/2 C Raw Almonds
1/2 C Walnuts
1/3 C Sun Dried Tomatoes loosely packed (If using oil packed, may slightly reduce amount of olive oil added)
1/2 Tsp Chili Powder (or to taste)

1/4 Tsp Cayenne Powder (or to taste)
2 to 4 Tbsp Olive Oil (or hemp, flax, etc.)
Optional: 1 Tsp Salt (or to taste)

Combine all ingredients into a food processor or high power blender and blend until combined and texture is a bit clumpy. This made enough “meat” for me to make 2 tacos for about 4-5 meals! I didn’t have any cayenne so I just used more chili powder and it was pretty spicy, probably since it was chipotle chili powder. I used hydroponic bibb lettuce leaves for tortillas, and topped it with mild salsa, avocado and some left over raw nacho cheese from my Good Life Cafe tacos. When I made a second batch of the tacos last week, I popped into the cafe for some of their delicious corn jicama salad to top on my Tacos as well, for that extra crunch.

I am hooked on these tacos and will continue to make them once I’m done with raw. The ingredients are relatively inexpensive, and like I said, made enough for several days of dinner for me.

Leave a Reply

