Raw Cilantro Pesto

20 Dec

I had a bunch of left over fresh cilantro from the Pico recipe, and I didn’t want to throw it away. I found out you can use it instead of Basil in a Pesto Sauce. I only had a few days left of raw and making one more recipe couldn’t hurt. I kind of ended up throwing it all together in a food processor.

  • 2 cups of fresh cilantro, with the stems removed
  • 1/2 of a fresh lemon’s juice
  • 1 small clove of garlic ,roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup of chopped raw almonds
  • 2 tbsp vegan parmesan (I used ground up cashews but you can use Parma! brand)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • splash of warm water

Throw the cilantro, garlic, almonds, and parmesan into the food processor. Blend for about 15-30 seconds until the almonds are less “clonkly” in the machine. Add the lemon juice and blend. While blending, slowly pour in the olive oil. It will seem kind of pasty at this point. Now add the water. You’re going to have to scrape the sides down a couple times after this step because the water is going to make the paste splash around a bit. Blend until smooth.

I spiralized a zucchini and let it drain to put this on top of, but I just don’t have luck with zucchini. Draining it just made it clump up and get more watery. I’m kind of over zucchini pasta at this point, it’s just too watery if you don’t make it, and immediately scarf it down. I did do a little taste test, and it’s pretty close to the real deal. It also smells amazing.

I ended up putting this sauce in the freezer, to spread over homemade pizza crust and make a pesto crusted pizza when I’m eating cooked foods again!

Leave a Reply

