Buy Isa Chanda Moskowitz’s Books

1 Jan

I bought Vegan with a Vengeance and Vegan Brunch on eBay and wish I had the money to buy the rest of her books! I know you can find a lot of great recipes online for free, but these books are a staple in a new vegan’s kitchen. Today is New Years and I wanted to pig out. I made her recipe for Chesapeake Tempeh Cakes on Christmas Eve, which you can find on theppk.com. It makes a lot of cakes and I took home most of the mixture, and have been eating them for a few days for lunch. I paired them with her recipe for “OMG Oven Baked Onion Rings” , also on theppk.com.

I found a bit of a shortcut for making these after doing them twice. I had leftover onions and batter, even though I halved the recipe. I’m only one girl, I don’t need a whole mess a rings! So I put the leftover onions in a container and poured the batter over it and shook to coat. The next day I pulled the batter out of the fridge, gave it another shake, and only had to make the breadcrumb mixture then. Which also made the coating stick better since it wasn’t dripping all over, like when you dredge them.

The remoulade for the cakes goes great with the onion rings too. My only complaint about the tempeh cake recipe is it is VERY delicate and you have to be careful when cooking them, they fall apart easily. I even had to coat my hands in oil when forming the cakes to get them to stay together.

NOW LETS TALK PIZZA

In Vegan with a Vengeance, there is a section about pizza. I thought I knew how to make pizza dough because me and my boyfriend had a short love affair for making home made pizza. I even bought him a pizza stone for Christmas one year. Isa’s recipe and instructions for making pizza are very easy to follow and made the best resulting pizza dough I’ve ever made.  I used the cilantro pesto I stored a few weeks ago to brush along the edge of the dough before it went into the oven.  I got the idea from..Dominos. YEARS ago they served up a pesto crust pizza that was my first glimpse into the world of pesto, and I still miss that delicious crust. So I’ll just make it myself, pff.

Ok, so I went a little overboard with the pesto and it was a bit strong. I brushed a lot of it off, but next time just a light brushing of the sauce will do. I like to top my pie with pepperoni and pineapple. I used a whole bag of daiya, the company’s website suggests it for a full size pizza. And I would take their suggestion. It looks like a lot when it goes on but once it melts it makes the perfect amount reminiscent of that Jersey pizzeria slice.

The only time I like a thick crusted pizza is if I am being totally gross and eating chain pizza. But if ordering from a pizzeria, you expect a thin crispy crust. I roll my pin round and round to get mine as round as possible before fitting it to size over the stone. I’m not fancy enough to go tossin’ it around like some pizza Olympian. Here’s one more photo of pizza because why not, HAPPY NEW YEAR! NOW GO BUY A VEGAN COOKBOOK!

Leave a Reply

