Quick Dinner: Seiten Crescent Pocket

15 Jan

I am still working on my leftover chili, I have been eating it daily since I made it and still have about two servings left!! But not wanting to ignore my baby, I’m going to throw what I call a “fatty delight” your way. This is NOT a healthy meal, but it is a tasty, guilty pleasure. Seiten Crescent Pockets came to me when I had some leftover items in my refrigerator. I had tried to perfect a philly style seiten sandwich from a favorite restaurant, and had not used all of the seiten or nutritional yeast sauce that I made. And also had half a package of Pillsbury Crescent dough left. This dough is considered vegan, but if you are trying to avoid hydrogenated oils and other processed chemical items, you’re out of luck. Unless you want to take the time to make your own vegan crescent dough! That’s up to you!You will need

  • Westsoy seiten in beef style strips
  • The Essential Nutritional Yeast recipe from my site
  • 1 tube Pillsbury crescent dough

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Take the seiten out of the package and thoroughly rinse the juicy goo off. Drain and pat dry. Pop open your tube of dough and roll out onto a cookie sheet. Your going to be using 2 triangled sections per pocket, so pinch the edging together so it forms one piece of dough. Place a small pile of seiten in the middle of the dough, kind of where the line was. Drizzle a tablespoon of sauce over the top, and then fold up the sides of the dough and pinch close. Repeat with all 4 squares of dough. You will probably have some seiten left over, this is fine. You don’t want to overload the pockets because then they will fall out while eating. Bake in the oven for about 10-12 minutes, until golden.

You can have fun with these and add sauteed onions and peppers inside, or marinated kale and garlic. Or even try chicken seiten! Stuff anything in a crescent roll for all I care!!

Leave a Reply

