Recipe: “What ever ya got!” Roasted Veggies

29 Jan

I don’t think things through very well when I go food shopping. I usually end up coming home with random vegetables that I have NO plans for, and sometimes even forget I have them. I didn’t know what to make for dinner, and upon inspection of my kitchen, discovered I had a few good veggies for roasting. I bought those expensive ass RED POTATOES on a whim because they were on sale. These are obviously best for roasting, so they were the centerpiece for this dish. You can use WHATEVER VEGGIES YOU HAVE, but this is what I used

  • 1 lb Red Potatoes
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 zucchini
  • half a red onion
  • 1 clove of garlic

I chopped them all up, which took a lot faster than preheating the oven. Preheat at 475, and toss all the veggies into a casserole dish. Coat with olive oil, and season it to your liking. I used liberal amounts of fresh cracked black pepper, grated sea salt, and oregano. I would have rather used thyme and rosemary than oregano, since they are more traditional roasting seasonings. Alas I have been lazy and have not yet purchased these! But I would recommend them! Toss all the veggies with your hands to evenly coat, and throw the dish in the oven on the middle rack, uncovered.

Toss them every 10 minutes, and roast for 30-35 minutes. They’ll be done when they start to brown, and you’ll see brown bits in the pan.

See how much they cook down? They look like a lot of veggies at first, but this dish only serves 2 people. Serve either plain or with brown rice. I’m having mine with a salad!

Leave a Reply

