Recipe: Underdog Brussel Sprouts

2 Feb

For the entire month of February, I challenged myself to eat a green veggie a day. This is supposed to open me up to different vegetables that I’ve never tried. For the first day, I went with the Brussel Sprout. I have honestly NEVER eaten them because they have always been touted as smelly and nasty by groaning children at dinner tables across the country. Not this way! I followed Nadia G’s recipe from her Underdog Vegetables clip on Youtube. These are some sweet roasted Brussels, coated in garlic and salty goodness.

  • 7-10 Brussel Sprouts
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • coarse salt
  • olive oil

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Cut the sprouts in half length wise, and throw ’em in a casserole dish. Coat with olive oil and sprinkle liberally with salt. Mix it well and shake the dish so the sprouts are in an even ish layer. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Toss it in the oven for ten minutes.

*tip: To get them extra tender and caramelized, cook for 25 minutes, then an additional 10 once garlic is added. Will look burnt but the insides will be perfection!

In the meantime, chop your garlic. I bought this garlic chopping gadget, that you roll on the counter and it chops it all up. It works great BUT you still get garlic-y hands trying to get the garlic out of the crevices of the roller. Once it’s all chopped up and the sprouts are out of the oven, mix in the garlic and put it back in the oven for five more minutes.

And that’s it! They’re done! The leaves on the outside should be crispy, the insides tender and sweet. The taste almost reminds me of Broccoli. I had this along side one of my curry tofu pot pies. I wasn’t even able to finish them all, they were pretty filling! Enjoy!!

Leave a comment