Recipe: The Take Five Carrot Cake Cupcake

13 Feb

I hate to put one of Isa’s recipes down, but the carrot cake from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World is just plain impossible. How do I know? I made it FOUR TIMES before just giving up and alternating the measurements to make sense. There is too much leavening agents in the original to the very small amount of flour, and way too much oil. Here is my revised version of the recipe:

The Dry

  • 3/4 c all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp salt

The Wet

  • 1/4 c vegetable oil
  • 1/3 c vanilla soy yogurt
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

The Weird

  • 1 c grated carrots
  • 1/4 c raisins
  • 1/4 c chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350, and set up your cupcake liners. The book calls to spray the liners with baking spray, which I tried. The papers STILL would stick to the cupcakes, I think this had to do with the very long baking time the recipe required. With this recipe, I wouldn’t spray the liners. Mix all the wet ingredients together with a spoon until combined. Put a mesh strainer over the bowl and sift in all the dry ingredients, and mix. The batter won’t look like much but it will bulk up from the fillings. Fold in the carrots, raisins and walnuts gently. Spray a ice cream scoop with a spring release with cooking spray, and use to scoop even amounts of batter into the liners, they will only fill up about half way. This recipe says it makes for 12 cupcakes, and they mean it. No more, no less! Bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

On the left, my new and improved cupcakes. On the right, two different sets of cupcakes with the original recipe. You really can see the difference! It’s sick!! Now for the frosting! The recipe for cream cheese frosting in the book, honestly does not make enough for me. Here’s my take

  • 8 oz earth balance
  • 8 oz Tofutti cream cheese
  • a ton of powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

I say a ton of powdered sugar because I feel like the measurements for powdered sugar in frosting recipes are never correct. It is always still super gloopy to me. Cream the earth balance and cream cheese together, I prefer the soy free EB. Mix in powdered sugar a half a cup at a time, this may take a while. I used probably 7-8 cups in my recipe. Add the vanilla and beat until thick. You can dye it orange to make cute carrots, or leave it as is and put it in the fridge to stiffen up a bit.This does make a lot of frosting but having some left over to use for next time never hurt anyone. Or make super high mounds of frosting on your cakes! This recipe would probably cover a 2 layer carrot cake pretty well. Happy Baking!! I mean, happier than I was trying to get this recipe correct!!

Leave a Reply

