Recipe: Spicy Baked Tofu with Tamari Asparagus

4 Mar

A few months ago, I bought a whole slew of cookbooks. I have made barely any of the recipes in them. I’ve been kind of just using them for the basis of other ideas, and for some tips. I wanted to try baked tofu, I’ve made tofu a few different ways already but never baked. I flipped through a few cookbooks, vegan and non, looking for a marinade recipe. I did not have a lot of the ingredients some called for, and did not feel like going to the store. So I made a marinade out of whatever the heck I had lying around that rounded good to me! Here we go!

  • 1 block of extra firm tofu, drained and pressed.
  • 2/3 c Worcestershire, make sure it’s vegan!
  • 1/3 c malt vinegar
  • 1/3 c coconut aminos
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/8 tsp chipotle chili pepper
  • good shake of crushed red pepper flakes

Whisk all the ingredients together in a deep bowl. Cut tofu width wise, into strips. You should get about ten. Place the tofu into the marinade, try to cover it the best you can. Let it soak for about 20-30 minutes, then flip. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place marinated strips on sheet, and bake for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven to flip, and pour on the leftover marinade. If you want to make it a little sweet, sprinkle with brown sugar before returning to the oven. Bake for another 15 minutes. In the meantime…

For the Asparagus:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp tamari soy sauce, low sodium
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, diced
  • few good shakes of red chili flakes
  • 1 bunch asparagus, with the woody ends cut off

Heat olive oil in a large skillet, and toast the garlic and chili flakes for two minutes. Add tamari and asparagus and saute for about ten minutes, until tender. This is my becoming a weekly thing for me, it’s so tasty! Courtesy of Bitchin Kitchen of course.

I paired these recipes with some cheesy smashed potatoes. You might be thinking this is a lot of sodium for one meal. Well you’re probably right but do I look like I care?! It’s tofu and greens!

Leave a Reply

