Recipe: Gardein Beefless n Broccoli

20 Jan

Image

Making your own Asian food is not as hard as it seems. All you need is a few essential ingredients, and a deep pan or wok. I’m looking for more ways to get some broccoli in my diet, and had these Gardein Beefless Tips sitting in my freezer for quite some time, dying for my attention. They really do shine in this dish, the sauce they get coated with makes you really forget you are eating soy proteins! You will need

For the marinade

  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 Tbsp water
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 bag of Gardein Beefless Tips

Combine everything in a bowl as listed and toss to coat. Pour 1 tablespoon of veg oil in a medium high heat pan, and cook the tips until heated through, about 5-8 minutes. Put aside.

For everything else:

  • 4 cups of fresh broccoli florets
  • 1 small onion, cut into wedges
  • 1/3 cup reduced sodium tamari soy sauce, or regular soy sauce.
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger

Cook the broccoli and onions in the pan with the leftover oil plus 1 more tablespoon, for about 4-5 minutes. Mix all the other ingredients together in a bowl and then dump the tips back in to the pan, and slowly add the liquid, so it doesn’t splash everywhere. Cook for about 2 more minutes, and it should be done! Plate with your favorite kind of rice, I did a brown and wild rice mix. Would also be tasty with some toasted sesame seeds on top!

2 Responses to “Recipe: Gardein Beefless n Broccoli”

  1. moveeatcreate January 20, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    I love Gardein as an option for nights when I need quick meal. Gardein, Nate’s Meatless Meatballs, and Quorn chick’n strips always feel a bit indulgent – but are always so satisfying! I love this use of it.

    • My Little Vegan January 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      I agree! and those meatless meatballs are really amazing!

Leave a comment